A nine- member governing board for the Community Water and Sanitation Agency (CWSA) has been inaugurated by the Minister for Sanitation and Water Resources, Hon. Cecilia Abena Dapaah.

The Hon. Minister called on members to live up to their mandate of providing guidance and direction for the efficient discharge of the functions of the Agency and to ensure consistency between the functions of the Agency and the overall sector vision for rural water delivery.

This she said will help improve water safety, sustain existing water systems and construct new ones to contribute to the realization of the sustainable development goal 6 and resolve all complex governance issues related to water supply management in the sub-sector.


The members of the board included, Mr. Kwesi Eduafo Yankey (Chairman), Ing. Dr. Worlanyo Kwadjo Siabi, Mr. Remy Bonpira Puoru, Ing. Kwabena A. Gyasi Duku and Mr. Donan Kobla Tay.

The others are Mr. Charles B. Nimako, Pe Ditundini Adiali Ayagitam III, Mr. Patrick Acheampong and Mad. Rose Afua Appenteng.

Speaking at the inauguration ceremony, the sector Minister, Mrs. Cecilia Abena Dapaah urged members to live-up to the expectation of the general public in service delivery and be committed to contributing their quota to the National Development efforts.

According to her, government have massively invested in the water sector hence members must work collectively with all stakeholders in the water value chain for the challenges in the sector to be properly addressed through periodic discussions and deliberations with the Ministry.

The Chairman for the board, Mr. Kwesi Eduafo Yankey thanked the President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akuffo-Addo and the Minister for the confidence reposed on members and pledged the board’s firm resolve to deliver on the mandate for which they were nominated.